3rd November 2011
By Patrik Johnsson
This plugin is NOT working on 3.5!
It’s available from the WordPress plugin repository. To install, please just search for it in your WordPress admin interface and install like any other plugin.
This plugin allows you to do the following things:
Jump to section:
After installing the plugin, you should find the following menu in your WordPress panel as shown on right.
To go to the general plugin options, click on ‘Clients Area’ . This will show you any general options available to the plugin. Currently, the only option that can be changed is the redirect location on logging out.
More options will be added to this section in later releases of the plugin
The group management section allows you to add, edit and remove groups. This is also where you can add or remove users to a group.
Add the bottom of this section all the existing groups are listed. To add or remove users to a group click the edit button.
When adding a user, just type their username and click on the result below to add. To remove, just click the ‘x’ next to the username listed.
N.B. Only users with role of ‘Clients’ can be added to a group.
Here you can view all users with the role of ‘Client’ and see the groups in which they are a member. Click on the username will allow you to edit the user; this is in fact a link to WordPress’ edit user page.
Clicking on delete will take you to a page where you can delete the user.
This is were all custom fields can be added to users. See example below:
Each field that is added, will be added to the edit user page. You can add whatever fields you like
There fields will allow the data to be stored as user-meta and therefore can be retrieved in your WordPress template like any other user-meta.
The easiest way to restrict content is when creating/editing a post/page. There is a metabox (shown below) in which will make the post only accessible to users which are members of the selected groups. If no groups are selected, the post is viewable to everyone.
You can also use shortcodes to restrict content within a post/page:
This plugin comes with a widget that shows a login form if logged out, and shows a navigational menu when logged in (see below).
When the plugin is installed, it copies a template file (page-clientarea.php) to the theme directory. This is a file ready to be modified to show a Client’s personal area. The ‘My Area’ link in the widget will take a user to this page. You can also add this page to your site’s navigation using WordPress’ menu editor.
N.B. If you change your theme, you will need to either reinstall this plugin else copy the page-clientarea.php file from the old theme to the new theme.